Pay a Fine

• Online: Killeen Municipal Court of Record

• In person at 200 E. Avenue D, Killeen, Texas

• By mailing a money order to Killeen Municipal Court of Record, 200 E. Avenue D, Suite 1, Killeen, TX 76541.  Payment must include your name, address, driver's license number and citation number.

Payment can be made by cash, credit card or money order.  The court does not accept personal checks.

 Driver's Safety Course (DSC)

You may be eligible to complete a driver's safety course in order to dismiss certain violations:

-You must appear by the appearance date provided in your notice/citation;
-Submit a signed written plea of "guilty" or "no contest" and a waiver of jury trial;
-Submit current proof of insurance (you must be listed as a driver)
-Submit a signed written request to complete the driver's safety course for dismissal of a specific violation;
-Submit a copy of your valid Texas driver's license (military can submit a valid out-of-state license with military identification);
-Pay court costs as follows:
Offenses that occur on or after January 1, 2014: $114.10/$139.10 if the offense occurred in a school zone
Offenses that occurred prior to January 1, 2014: $112.10/$137.10 if the offense occurred in a school zone

The driver's safety class can only be requested for ONE qualifying violation and can only be requested once in a 12 month period from the date the course was last  completed.

 Persons who hold a commercial driver's license are not eligible to complete a driver's safety course to dismiss a violation.  

Ineligible Violations

1. Speeding 95 miles per hour or more
2. 25 miles per hour or more over the posted speed
3. TC 545.066, passing a school bus
4. TC 550.022, immediately stop at the scene of accident; immediately return to the scene of the accident if the vehicle is not stopped at the scene of the accident; and remain at the scene of an accident until the operator complies with the requirements of section 550.023
5. TC 550.023, failure to give information; fail to show the operator's driver's license; fail to render aid
6. Any offense that occurred in a construction zone with workers present
7. Persons who hold a commercial driver's license

 Required Appearances

You are required to appear before the Municipal Court Judge in open court if on the date of the offense:

-You were under 17 years of age
-You were under the age of 21 charged with an alcohol offense
-You were under the age of 18 charged with a tobacco offense

 In this section
 Court Dockets
 Hours of Operation

 

Court Hours
Monday - Thursday   8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Arraignments

Monday and Wednesday

  8:15 a.m.

Monday and Wednesday

  1:15 p.m.
Trials

1st, 3rd & 5th Tuesday

  8:15 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
Teen Court
Thursdays    

 

In order to timely process cases, the court is unfortunately unable to accommodate walk-ins after 4:30 p.m.

 

 Contact Information

Mark D. Kimball
Presiding Judge

200 E. Avenue D, Suite 1
Killeen, Texas 76540
(Map)

(254) 501-7850
Email Municipal Court

 Telephone Inquiries

For information on violations filed in the Killeen Municipal Court, please call 254-501-7850. A telephone call does not constitute an appearance.

 Forms

Plea Form
Driver's Safety Course Request Form
Juror Questionnaire

All forms must be signed and submitted with a valid picture identification

 Appointment & Fees
 Court Staff
Judicial Staff
Presiding Judge Mark D. Kimball
Associate Judge Gregory K. Simmons
Clerk of the Court Luevada Posey
Bailiff Grover Lehman
   
Marshal's Staff
City Marshal B. Tindle
Deputy City Marshal
Deputy City Marshal
L. Gardner
J. MacIntyre
   

 

 Fines / Fees

 

COMPLETE LIST OF FINES AND COST

BE ADVISED THAT FINES CAN CHANGE WITHOUT NOTICE

PERSONAL CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED FOR PAYMENT OF FINES.

Code of Ordinances - Chapter 2
Art. V Municipal Court
Art. VI Fees

 

 Driver Responsibility Program

The Driver Responsibility Program (DRP) establishes a system that authorizes the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to assess surcharges to an individual based on certain traffic offenses that have occurred on or after September 1, 2003. Individuals are notified by mail each time a surcharge is added to their driver record. Surcharges are in addition to other fees and do not replace a suspension, revocation, denial, disqualification or cancelation resulting from the same conviction.

This program was developed to encourage safe driving habits.  It requires DPS to assess surcharges to individuals based on certain traffic offenses.  These surcharges are assessed in two ways, a point system, and conviction based.

  • Points are assessed for Texas or out-of-state moving violation convictions: two (2) points for a conviction, and three (3) points for a conviction that resulted in a crash.  Individuals are assessed a point surcharge annually if they have six (6) or more points on their driver record.  For each consecutive 12 month period that an individual does not receive any points for a moving violation, one (1) point will be deducted form the individual's total points.
  • A Conviction based surcharge is a result of being convicted of any of the following; Driving While Intoxicated, No Driver License, Driving While License Invalid, and No Insurance.  Points are not assessed for these offenses.  A conviction based surcharge will be assessed annually for three (3) years from the date of conviction.  An individual also has the option to pay all three (3) years at once.

DPS offers programs that may reduce or waive surcharges.  For more information about DRP, along with details on available surcharge discounts and other surcharge assistance, please visit Texas Department of Public Safety.